top of page

Chronicles of a Procrastinating Novelist Volume 20: Voluntary Suspension


A year has passed and my attempts to be more faithful with the blog, while not perfectly successful, faired far better than the year previous, yet here I sit with the number of readers probably still countable with a single hand's digits and no greater motivation than in 2017 when I essentially ignored the damn thing. There's a more fundamental problem with my whole web-site/blog monstrosity than lack of motivation or flawed content generation strategy.

When I first put them up, I had a book deal. Within the year, I thought I'd have a book to promote. That fell through. In its absence, I have no "brand" so to speak. Sarcastic, reluctant blogger is not a brand. Another neurotic writer whinging on about writing neurotically is not a brand. I'm scribbling content and throwing it at the wall hoping it will stick.

I'd really just rather be writing fiction.

So 2019 is the year I'm going back to the submission grind until my teeth crack to splinters, or I land an agent. I do plan to return with blog and website refurbished and actual material with which to grow an audience.

To those who've followed me through the growing pains,

Thank you for reading.

B

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page